Publish a Short Story

Breaking into the publishing world is tough. There are a lot of great writers out there clamoring for the attention of agents and publishers. Getting someone to even read your novel manuscript can be almost impossible. So, I’ve devised a plan, a way to hopefully earn some of that attention: publish some short stories first.

My thinking goes like this: if I can point to a collection, however small, of already published works when I start querying literary agents and publishing companies, that gives me a tiny advantage over the other writers they have to consider. Will it work? Who knows. But I’m giving it a shot and you’ll be the first to know how it turns out.

I’ve currently got a short story in the late stages of revision and I’m hoping to have it ready for submission soon. I’ve sent it through two rounds of critiques at Scribophile and really only need to do some polishing to make it complete. After the revision I’m currently working on is complete, I’ll post the draft here to get some feedback from you guys.

At that point, I may be ready to start submitting to literary magazines. The process could still take a while from that point, but the cycle of rejection and re-submission is generally a bit quicker for short stories than novels. Probably because they’re, well, shorter.

What about you? Do you have any other ideas for how to make that first step into the publishing world?

Let me know what you think!

