Short Story is Ready

I’ve got my short story polished up to what I hope is a publishable shine! Of course, this is my first stab at traditional publication so who knows if I have any clue what’s actually going to be publishable. But, win or lose, succeed or fail, I’m ready to submit.

The story is “Everyday,” and it’s the first in a loosely connected collection of short stories called The Samokei Chronicles. My goal is create a collection of fantasy short stories, each of which is capable of standing on its own as a self-contained story. But all of those stories, though independent from each other, are part of a larger story – the story of Samokei. The challenge is in revealing enough information in each story for it to be able to stand alone while not giving away too much of the larger story all at once.

But I’ve met that challenge (I think) and I’m ready to start submitting.

I’ll be sending the story to Strange Horizons first once they re-open for submissions on January 1. Once I hear back from them, I’ll let you know the response. If it’s a rejection, I’ll be on to the next magazine!

Let me know what you think!

