My First Rejection

Last week I submitted a short story to a literary magazine for the first time.

Last week I also received my first rejection from a literary magazine.

The good news was that Clarkesworld has an incredibly fast response time. I sent the story on Friday and got a response the next day. The bad news is that their lightning fast response was a form rejection.

But don’t worry! I’ve already sent the story to Strange Horizons. I was planning on sending it to them first, but by the time of day I tried to submit it, they had already reached their daily quota of stories. So I sent it to Clarkesworld since they had such a fast average response time. Strange Horizons estimates about 40 days for their response, so I’ve got a bit longer to wait.

In the meantime, I’m still working away on my novel as well as getting on a new short story that I’ll tell you about soon.

Let me know what you think!

