Beta-Readers for New Short Stories

My short story, “Everyday” is being reviewed by a third literary magazine. It’s been turned down by Clarkesworld and Strange Horizons so far and Beneath Ceaseless Skies is reading it now.

In the meantime, I’m working on a couple of new short stories. There are tons of ideas bouncing around in my head and my ghostwriting workload is a little light for now, so I’m trying to knock out two at once. And I’m in need of some beta-readers. People to read the stories and share whatever thoughts they have. It could be proofing for grammar/spelling, feedback on the characters or plot, or just saying, “I love it!” or, “I hate it!” Whatever you can provide.

One story is already past the first draft stage and will be ready for beta-reading in a few days. “The Gravity of Pride” is about Captain Shards, a fatally arrogant and distrustful space ship captain on a quest to find a dark star. It’s flash fiction, intended for the online mag Daily Science Fiction.

I’m still writing the second one. It’s a bit longer, probably between 2,000 and 3,000 words once it’s done. “Just a Drop” follows the final hours of Scot, a death row inmate in a world where every violent crime in punishable by death.

If either (or both) of these stories catches your interest, fill out the form below to let me know which story you want and I’ll send you a PDF to read and comment on.

Let me know what you think!

