Writing Goals

I’ve recently had a major shift in my schedule that allows me considerably more time to write than I’ve had before. I earn money as a ghostwriter, so I’ve been spending most of my day writing for almost two years now. The only problem with that is that I’ve been spending most of my day writing other peoples’ stories while my own have been relegated to the back burner. On the one hand, it’s great because I’m getting paid to write. And that’s the goal, right?

Well, mostly.

On the other hand, I’m not getting my own stories done and writing them is important, too. Now, thanks to some recent changes in my life, I have more time to devote to writing those stories. So, I’m laying out some goals for myself. Goals that are more specific than, “Finish my novel… someday. And publish some short stories, too. Probably.”

Let’s start with The Other Side of Hope, my current work-in-progress. I’d rather not say when I started working on this novel because it’s been way too long, especially considering that the current first draft word count is sitting at just over 26K. But now I’m setting a hard and fast goal and putting it out there for all of you to see. I will finish the first draft of The Other Side of Hope by November 31. Then the editing, revising, and re-writing will begin and I won’t comment on when that will be done just yet. But there will be a first draft by the end of November.

In addition to that big project, I’ll be continuing to work on short stories. “Just a Drop” is going through the rounds with magazines now and I’m going to keep sending it out until it finds a home because I feel really good about that story. While that’s happening, I’m diving back into Samokei, the world of “Everyday,” to write another story there. You should see excerpts from the first draft of “The Howling Wood” appearing here by mid to late October and I hope to have the full story available on Amazon before year’s end.

So there you go, my writing goals for the next few months.

  • Finish the first draft of The Other Side of Hope by November 31
  • Get “Just a Drop” published
  • Publish “The Howling Wood” on Amazon by December 31

Feel free to check in on me and ask how I’m doing!

Now it’s your turn. What are your writing goals? We’ve just got a few months left in 2015, so what do you want to get done between now and January 1?

Let me know what you think!

